Mathematics - Research

The Discipline of Mathematics at IIT Palakkad is strongly committed to excellence in research and teaching. We envisage a period of fast growth leading to a strong and diverse Mathematics community at IIT Palakkad. The expertise of the faculties spread across pure and applied mathematics.

Algebraic Geometry: Dr. Rohith Varma

Commutative Algebra: Dr. Paragama Sarkar

Differential Equations:  Dr. Lakshmi Sankar K, Dr. Sarath Sasi

Functional Analysis:  Dr. C R JayanarayananProf. S H Kulkarni

Several Complex Variables:  Dr. G. P. Balakumar, Dr. Jaikrishnan J

Low-dimensional Topology: Dr. Arpan Kabiraj

Mathematical Statistics, Probability and Information Theory: Dr. M. Ashok Kumar

The discipline is  very keen on having researchers in every major field of mathematics and are proactive  to ensure that this is achieved in the near future. In addition, the PhD students are actively involved as teaching assistants for both B.Tech as well as MSc courses. This will prepare them well for a future career in academia.  There are currently five Ph.D research scholars working in the Discipline of Mathematics.

Research Scholars (PhD): Anumol Joseph (Partial differential equations), Ardra A (Partial differential equations), Atin Gayen (Statistical Inferences), Jiju Mammen (Several Complex Variables), Sreejith Siju (Functional Analysis)