Graduate Research Council

The graduate research program (MS/PhD) of the institute is administered centrally by the Graduate Research Council (GRC) following the rules and regulations issued by the senate. The GRC is headed by the Chairperson and will consist of at least four members from across departments/centres on a rotation basis for a term of two years with half of them replaced every year. More members may be added as the number of MS/Ph.D. students increase. The current GRC consists of the following members (Office Order Ref: IITPKD/DO/CC/2021/051 and IITPKD/DO/CC/2021/051 Dated 08/6/2023).

Chairperson:  Dean Academics or his/her nominee

Members: Dr. Manas Kumar Jena, Dr. K V N Surendra, Dr. Anoop George, Dr. Supratik Sen Mojumdar

Each GRC member will be in charge of a maximum of 100 students working in a group of departments/centres. In order to ensure scalability of the GRC, as the number of research scholars grows, the GRC may consider having an additional layer with GRC members grouped under Divisional Vice Chairpersons.

  1. The GRC is responsible for setting up committees for the selection of research scholars, and will set-up interdisciplinary committees, if necessary, based on the requests received from faculty members. Faculty members must submit requests for allocation of research scholars directly to the GRC. Faculty members also have freedom to request for students from a different background/discipline, clearly mentioning the expertise they are looking for in the candidates.
  2. The life cycle of the research scholar, from course work to thesis submission, is monitored by student specific committees (Doctoral Committee/MS Committee) set up by the GRC. These committees are responsible for recommending the coursework aligned with the research areas of the student and monitoring the progress of research.
  3. Students  have the freedom to work with one or more supervisors in different departments/centres, but must necessarily register in a parent department/centre for discharging their TA responsibilities. Students may take courses from different departments/centres, as recommended by their respective committees in order to complete their credit requirements.