# **Indian Institute of Technology Palakkad**



# Class Committees PG Sep-Feb 2020-21

Class Committees consisting of a chairperson, student representatives and course instructors are constituted every semester. The basic responsibilities of the class committee are:

- To review periodically the progress of the courses, to discuss issues concerning curricula and syllabi and
  the conduct of the classes including the method of teaching in the respective courses for ensuring effective
  learning.
- The mode of assessment for the course will be decided by the teacher in consultation with the Class Committee, and will be announced to the students at the beginning of the semester.
- Each Class Committee will communicate its recommendations concerning the teaching-learning activity and students' performance and attendance to the Dean (Academics).
- The final Class Committee held after a week of the end semester examination, without the student members, will be responsible for the finalization of the course grades/semester results.

The Class Committee is required to meet a minimum of three times in a semester, first at the beginning of the semester, then once, twice or more during the semester to discuss teaching-learning aspects and the one after the end-semester examination to finalise the grades. The meeting at the end of the semester is to be held without participation of the student representatives. The chairperson of the class committee may invite the concerned Faculty Advisers to any of the meetings if needed.

#### Special Notes for the Current (Online) Semester

Evaluation Policy. Please remember that the courses running online will have a major continuous evaluation component - between 60% and 80%. This is expected to be done through regular (weekly or fortnightly) short quizzes, assignments, tutorials etc. The details of the continuous evaluation may be decided by the instructor in consultation with the class committee and minuted in the first meeting. The institute will formulate guidelines for the mode of conducting the final examination after going through the available options for proctored examinations.

Attendance Policy. The senate norms for attendance suggests the course instructors should inform the students of their attendance at the time of each test and warn them about possible W grades in case of their falling short of stipulated 85%.

The minimum attendance requirement stays at 85% for online classes also. But considering the technical difficulties in attending the live online classes, the instructors may allow the students with genuine excuses to reclaim their lost attendance for live online classes by demonstrating that they have studied the material that was discussed in the lost classes. This may be done via assignments, scribe notes, viva etc completed within one week of the missed class. This policy may also be informed in advance to the class and minuted in the first class committee meeting along with the grading policy. The students with shortage of attendance may be warned about the same via email at least twice during the course (once after one-third of the course and once after two-thirds of the course).

The final CCM for the courses which end in Term II or Term III may be held together. The chairperson may call any extra meetings to address any special requirements from courses that are scheduled to finish in a single term.

In its first meeting, the Class Committee Chairman may remind faculty and student representatives about the above points..

The class committees constituted for Sep-Feb 2020-21 are as follows.

Associate Dean (Academics)

Sep 29, 2020 Palakkad

#### PG common courses

Chairperson : Dr. Jobin Francis

GN5000 Communication and Technical Dr. Reenu Punnoose

Writing Skills

ME5011 Mathematics for Engineers Dr. Sovan Lal Das

MA5001 Linear Algebra Dr. C R Jayanarayanan

MA5007 Probability and Statistics Dr. Ashok Kumar M

**Student Representatives** :

102002014- Teres M Paul, 132002006- Bharath Krishnan P

212005005- Daksh Yadav, 212005020- Sweta Sharma

#### Semester- I – M.Tech Computing and Mathematics and M.Sc. Mathematics

Chairperson : Dr. Debarati Chatterjee

Course Code Course Title Teaching Faculty

CS5013 Topics in Discrete Mathematics Dr. Krithika Ramaswamy

CS5009 Algorithms Dr. Jasine Babu

CS5017 Theory of Computation Dr. Deepak Rajendraprasad

MA5003 Real Analysis Dr. Jaikrishnan J
MA5005 Groups and Rings Dr. Rohith Varma

MA5009 Ordinary Differential Equations Dr. Sarath Sasi

#### **Student Representatives**:

212005004- Sipriyano Cimoes, 212005011- Rani Kumari

112002003-Avijit Mondal, 112002006- Pooja Pandey

#### Semester- I – M.Tech Data Science and M.Tech in SoCD

Chairperson : Dr. Reenu Punnoose

<b>Course Code</b>	Course Title	<b>Teaching Faculty</b>
CS5011	Optimisation	Dr. Chnadra Sekhar
		Lakshminarayanan
CS5512	Machine Learning	Dr. Sahely Bhadra
CS5101	Machine Learning Lab	Dr. Sahely Bhadra

CS5015	Data Engineering	Dr. Mrinal Kanti Das
CS5103	Data Engineering Lab	Dr. Mrinal Kanti Das
EE5011	VLSI Design	Dr. Subrahmanyam Mula
EE5009	Nanoelectronics for Circuits and Design	Dr. Revathy Padmanabhan
CS5019	Advanced Computer Architecture	Dr. Vivek Chaturvedi
CS5119	Advanced Computer Architecture Laboratory	Dr. Vivek Chaturvedi
CS5107	Programming Laboratory	Dr. Vivek Chaturvedi

#### **Student Representatives** :

142002001- Abhichal Rajput, 142002013- Navjyoti Meena

152002002- Anup Patil, 152002016- R Parnika Murty

# Semester- I – M. Tech Geotechnical Engineering

Chairperson	: Dr. Ganesh Natarajan	
<b>Course Code</b>	Course Title	<b>Teaching Faculty</b>
CE5007	Soil Engineering	Dr. Divya P V
CE5005	Geotechnical Investigations and Instrumentation	Dr. Sudheesh T K
CE5607	Ground Improvement	Dr. Divya P V
CE5611	Soil Dynamics and Earthquake Engineering	Dr. Rakesh J Pillai

### **Student Representatives**:

102002015- Uday Pratap Singh, 102002003- Angel Thomson

# Semester- I – M. Tech Manufacturing & Materials Engineering

Chairperson : Dr. Subhasis Mitra

<b>Course Code</b>	Course Title	<b>Teaching Faculty</b>
ME5007	Advanced Engineering Materials	Dr. Kesavan D
ME5005	Modern Manufacturing Processes	Dr. Kanmani Subbu S
ME5013	Mechanics of Machining	Dr. Afzaal Ahmed

ME5009 Digital Manufacturing Dr. Chakradhar D

ME5012 Manufacturing Processes and

Characterization Laboratory

### **Student Representatives**:

132002011- Sandeep Kumar, 132002017- Shamika Pandey

# Semester- I – M. Tech Power Electronics and Power Systems

Chairperson : Dr. Chandra Shekar Lakshminarayanan

<b>Course Code</b>	Course Title	<b>Teaching Faculty</b>
EE5021	Power Convertor Analysis and Design	Dr. Anirudh Guha
EE5017	Power System Analysis and Operation	Dr. Manas Kumar Jena
EE5019	Modelling and Analysis of Electrical Machines	Dr. Arun Rahul S
EE5022	Synthesis of Control	Dr. Vijay Muralidharan
EE5513	Power System Protection	Dr. Manas Kumar Jena
EE5xxx	Seminar	

#### **Student Representatives**:

122002007- Sri Damodar Diwakar Jatti, 122002012- Tripathi Siddharth Sudhakar

## **Semester-I-M. Sc Chemistry**

Chairperson : Dr. M. Ashok Kumar

Course Code	Course Title	<b>Teaching Faculty</b>
CY5001	Principles in Chemistry	Dr. Shanmugaraju Shankarasekharan
CY5003	Mathematics for Chemistry	Dr. Debarati Chatterjee
CY5015	Atomic and Molecular Structure	Prof K L Sebastian
CY5005	Symmetry, Group Theory and Spectroscopy	Dr. Padmesh A
CY5009	Structure and Properties of Molecules	Dr. Dinesh Jagadeesan

### **Student Representatives**:

CY5101

202005004- Bankim Paul, 202005027- Ayush Tripathi

## Semester- I – M. Sc Physics

Chairperson

: Dr. Swaroop Sahoo

Course Code	Course Title	<b>Teaching Faculty</b>
PH5007	Quantum Mechanics I	Dr. Prithvi Narayanan P
PH5005	Applicable Mathematics	Dr. Projjwal Banerjee
PH5001	Classical Mechanics	Dr. Kusum Dhochak
PH5003	Electromagnetic Theory	Dr. Soham Manni
PH5101	Physics Lab Theme- I	

### **Student Representatives**:

222005033- Harsh Sharma, 222005008- Mayurakshi Deb