Departments & Centers

The distinguishing features of the  academic administration at IIT Palakkad are the following.

  • Faculty members are allowed to hold multiple affiliations
  • Graduate research programs (MS/PhD) are administered centrally by the Graduate Research Council.

The structure hinges on the philosophy of freedom and mobility of faculty members and students across different departments/centres with the research student administration and research infrastructure being opaque to these departments/centres. Every faculty member will have a primary affiliation, with either a department or an interdisciplinary research centre, and can have a secondary affiliation in another department or interdisciplinary centre. Faculty members who have a primary affiliation with a centre must necessarily have a secondary affiliation with a department. It is possible for faculty members to change or add to their affiliation any time during their career.

The academic course programs (BTech/MTech/MSc) are the responsibility of individual departments, which will also run minor streams in some cases. The research specific to disciplines that are part of the department shall also be conducted therein. The Head of Department (HoD), appointed for a term of three years, will be the chairperson of the Departmental Consultative Committee (DCC) and will provide guidance to the faculty on teaching, research and administration.

The thematic interdisciplinary research centres have a major focus on research and will also run MTech programs and offer minor courses/electives for BTech programs. Head of the Centre (HoC), who is appointed for a term of five years, will administer the research and teaching activities with the help of the Centre Consultative Committee (CCC). 

The current departments/centres and the HoDs/HoCs are as follows.

Department of Biological Sciences and Engineering Prof. Jagadeesh Bayry 9188952142
Department of Chemistry Dr. Dinesh Jagadeesan 9188952143
Department of Civil Engineering Dr. M. V. Anil Kumar 9188952144
Department of Computer Science and Engineering Dr. Jasine Babu 9188952145
Department of Data Science Dr. Mrinal Kanti Das 9188952146
Department of Electrical Engineering Dr. Mahesh R Panicker 9188952147
Environmental Sciences and Sustainable Engineering Center Dr. Deepak Jaiswal 9188952148
Department of Humanities and Social Sciences Dr. Reenu Punnoose

Department of Mathematics Dr. M. Ashok Kumar 9188952150
Department of Mechanical Engineering Dr. Samarjeet Chanda 9188952151
Department of Physics Dr. Jayakumar Balakrishnan 9188952152